Native American Places to Visit

Canada's First Nations

The name "Canada" is derived from Kanata, the Huron word meaning "settlement" or "village".

Visit our Canadian pages about First Nation casinos, places to visit, powwows and First Nations. Start by selecting a province from the drop-down menu above.


Powwow Section
Visit Canada powwows, festivals, concerts, rodeos, and other celebrations.

First Nation Casinos

Information to all First Nations owned casinos, bingo, gaming, resorts, including maps, driving directions, facilities, entertainment, powwows, and more!

Places to Visit

Places to Visit! Enjoy Canada's cultural and heritage centers, museums, historical sites, archaeology sites, libraries, national parks and monuments.

First Nations

First Nations
Contact information for the First Nations and Bands of Canada.

Aboriginal peoples
Canada's Constitution Act 1982 recognizes three distinct Aboriginal peoples, each having unique heritages, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

First Nations  This term became common in the 1970s as a replacement for the word "Indian."  "First Nations peoples" refers to the Indian people in Canada, many of whom have also adopted the term "First Nation" to replace the word "band" in the name of their community.

Metis  People of both Aboriginal and European ancestry.

Inuit  An Aboriginal people in northern Canada, who live above the tree line in the Northwest Territories, Northern Quebec, and Labrador. The word means "people" in the Inuit language - Inuktitut. The singular of Inuit is Inuk.

Today, the Aboriginal population in Canada, which is growing at almost twice the rate of the overall population, accounts for about three per cent of all Canadians, or roughly 790 000 people. Of those, about 69 percent are First Nations, 26 percent are Metis and five percent are Inuit.

Provinces and Territories
Canada has ten provinces and three territories, each with its own capital city (in brackets): Alberta (Edmonton); British Columbia (Victoria); Manitoba (Winnipeg); New Brunswick (Fredericton); Newfoundland (St. John's); Nova Scotia (Halifax); Ontario (Toronto); Prince Edward Island (Charlottetown); Quebec (Quebec City); Saskatchewan (Regina); Northwest Territories (Yellowknife); Nunavut (Iqaluit); and Yukon Territory (Whitehorse).


Source: Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
This is not an official version of the materials reproduced, nor as having beenmade, in affiliation with or with the endorsement of Indian and Northern AffairsCanada

American Indian College Fund

Tribal Enrollment Process

Trace Indian Ancestry