Native American Places to Visit

State Recognized Tribes

There are eighteen states which have agency programs to evaluate and recognize American Indian tribes and organizations for the purpose of providing aid or assistance.

The following tribes are formally recognized by their state governments, but have not been granted federal recognition.


The Alabama Indian Affairs Commission was created in 1984 to create state standards and recognize those tribes that qualify. The following tribes are recognized by the State of Alabama.

  • Cher-O-Creek Intra Tribal Indians
  • Cherokee Tribe of Northeast Alabama
  • Cherokees of Southeast Alabama
  • Echota Cherokee Tribe of Alabama
  • Ma-Chis Lower Creek Indian Tribe of Alabama
  • MOWA Band of Choctaw Indians
  • Piqua Shawnee Tribe
  • Star Clan of Muscogee Creeks
  • United Cherokee Ani-Yun-Wiya Nation


The following 6 tribes are recognized by the State of Connecticut.

  • Golden Hill Paugussett
  • Mashantucket Pequot
  • Mohegan
  • Paucatuck Eastern Pequot
  • Schaghticoke

Source: Connecticut General Assembly


Delaware has 2 Native American tribes that have been recognized by its state government.

  • Lenape Indian Tribe of Delaware
  • Nanticoke Indian Association, Inc.


There are 2 American Indian tribes in Georgia that have been recognized by the state government.

  • Cherokee of Georgia Tribal Council
  • Georgia Tribe of Eastern Cherokees


The State of Louisiana has recognized 10 American Indian tribes in the state.

  • Addai Caddo Tribe
  • Biloxi-Chitimacha Confederation of Muskogee
  • Choctaw-Apache Tribe of Ebarb[
  • Clifton-Choctaw
  • Four Winds Tribe, Louisiana Cherokee Confederacy
  • Grand Caillou/Dulac Band
  • Isle de Jean Charles Band
  • Louisiana Choctaw Tribe
  • Pointe-au-Chien Tribe
  • United Houma Nation


Maryland has granted state recognition to two local Piscataway tribes.

  • Piscataway Conoy Tribe
  • Piscatway Indian Nation


The Massachusetts Commission on Indian Affairs was created ub 1974 to recognize tribes for receiving assistance from the state. The commission has recognized the following tribes.

  • Massachusett
    • Praying Indians of Natick
    • Massachusett-Ponkapoag Tribal Council
  • Nipmuc/Nipmuck
    • Nipmuc Nation
    • Webster/Dudley Band of the Chaubunagungamaug Nipmuck
  • Wampanoag
    • Assonet Wampanoag Tribe
    • Chappaquiddick Wampanoag Tribe
    • Herring Pond Wampanoag Tribe
    • Pocasset Tribe of the Pokanoket Nation
    • Seaconke Wampanoag Tribe


There are four State Recognized Tribes in Michigan.

  • Burt Lake Band of Ottawa & Chippewa Indians
  • Grand River Band of Ottawa Indians
  • Mackinac Bands of Chippewa & Ottawa Indians
  • Swan Creek Black River Confederated Ojibwa Tribes of Michigan


There is one State Recognized Tribe in Montana.

  • Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians

New Jersey

New Jersey has granted state recogniztion to 3 American Indian tribes.

  • Nanticoke Lenni-Lenape Tribal Nation
  • Powhatan Renape Nation
  • Ramapough Lunaape Nation

New York

New York State recognizes 3 American Indian tribes.

  • Tonawanda Band of Seneca
  • Tuscarora Nation
  • Unkechague Poosepatuck Tribe

North Carolina

North Carolina recognizes these 6 state tribes.

  • Coharie Intra-tribal Council, Inc.
  • Haliwa-Saponi Indian Tribe
  • Lumbee Tribe
  • Meherrin Nation
  • Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation
  • Sappony
  • Waccamaw-Siouan Tribe

North Carolina also recognizes 4 American Indian organizations:

  • Cumberland County Association for Indian People
  • Guilford Native American Association
  • Metrolina Native American Association
  • Triangle Native American Society


There are 2 state-recognized tribes in Ohio:

  • Munsee Delaware Indian Nation
  • United Remnant Band of the Shawnee Nation

South Carolina

There are 9 American Indian tribes in South Carolina that have been granted state recognition.

  • Beaver Creek Indians
  • Edisto Natchez Kusso Tribe of South Carolina
  • Pee Dee Nation of Upper South Carolina
  • Pee Dee Indian Tribe of South Carolina
  • Santee Indian Organization
  • Piedmont American Indian Association of South Carolina
  • Sumter Tribe of the Cheraw
  • Wassamasaw Tribe of Varnertown Indians
  • Waccamaw Indian People

South Carolina also has recognized 5 state Tribal Groups (non-tribes):

  • Chaloklowa Chickasaw Indian People
  • Eastern Cherokee, Southern Iroquois & United Tribes of South Carolina, Inc.
  • Natchez Indian Tribe
  • Pee Dee Indian Nation of Beaver Creek
  • Piedmont American Indian Association of South Carolina

South Carolina has also recognized the following 2 Tribal Special Interest Organizations (non-tribes):

  • American Indian Chamber of Commerce of South Carolina
  • Little Horse Creek American Indian Cultural Center


There are 2 state-recognized American Indian tribes in Texas.

  • Lipan Apache Tribe
  • Texas Band of Yaqui Indians


Vermont recognizes 4 state American Indian tribes.

  • Elnu Abenaki Tribe
  • Nulhegan Band of the Coosuk Abenaki Nation
  • Koasek Abenaki Tribe
  • Mississquoi Abenaki Tribe


There are 9 American Indian tribes in Virginia that have been granted state recognition.

  • Cheroenhaka
  • Chickahominy Tribe
  • Eastern Chickahominy Tribe
  • Mattaponi
  • Monacan Indian Nation
  • Nansemond
  • Nottoway of Virginia
  • Patawomeck
  • Rappahannock


Washington State has 1 state-recognized tribe.

  • Chinook Indian Tribe

This page was last updated: Jan 1, 2017

American Indian College Fund

Tribal Enrollment Process

Trace Indian Ancestry