First-time possession of less than 450 grams is a misdemeanor with a maximum 1-year prison sentence and $2,500 fine. Subsequent offenses can bring a fine of $100,000 and a sentence up to 3 1/2 years.
Sale of any amount is a fine of $300,000 to $500,000 and a prison sentence based on the seriousness of the crime.
There four federally-recognized tribes in Kansas. The DOJ marijuana policy on tribal reservations applies to these Kansas tribes. Each is federally recognized as sovereign by the Bureau of Indian Affairs in the U.S. Interior Department.
For a complete list of Kansas tribes and their locations, see our page about Kansas Tribes.
Hemp is a variety of Cannabis plant grown for industrial use.
The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) will allow tribes to self-administer hemp production on their reservations if they submit an acceptable plan. See U.S. Domestic Hemp Production Program.
USDA-Approved Hemp Plans - KANSAS
|Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska|
Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation
|State of Kansas||Approved Plan|
Most players - Most visits